Rendering of new One GDS campus
  • School
  • Unification

One Campus. One Mission. One GDS.

The One Campus. One Mission. One GDS. campaign is the most ambitious fundraising effort in our School’s history, with a $50M goal. With more than 2,055 donors joining this historic effort, the GDS community came together to raise an extraordinary $52,003,195 in support of a unified campus, enhancing access to our School through increased financial aid and the Hopper Fund.

When we open our unified campus in fall 2020, it will mark the first time our entire school, pre-K–12, will share one address. Beyond the physical benefits of our unified campus, there will be countless opportunities for cross-divisional activities and events, mentorship, and more meaningful engagement for our faculty and students across divisions. Imagine pre-K/senior buddies having lunch once a month, school-wide Students of Color Meetings, High School theater students mentoring their Middle School colleagues. The opportunities are endless. A primary driver in our decision to unify our campuses was to better fulfill our mission and make GDS more accessible to a wider range of students. For these reasons, support for financial aid was a key pillar of the One GDS campaign. Another priority of the One GDS campaign was not only to maintain the Hopper Fund’s yearly operating support but to increase it. With the incredible support of our community, we were able to exceed our goal by more than $2,000,000 and have done just that.

Each and every gift to the One GDS campaign brought us closer to our goal of making GDS more accessible for generations of students and bringing our community together in a transformational way. We look forward to recognizing every donor to the One GDS campaign, in alphabetical order, on a donor wall in our new Lower/Middle School building. This installation, prominently located on the way into the building, will be a daily reminder of the philanthropic spirit of our community and a visual representation of how many members of our community came together to bring the One Campus. One Mission. One GDS. vision to life.

If you have questions about the One GDS campaign or your pledge, please contact Lindsey Jacobson, interim director of development, at 202-295-1061 or ljacobson@gds.org.

Why One GDS

Campaign Video

A Look into the New LMS

Black Box


Science Labs




  1. Unified School - Bringing our GDS home, for the first time ever as a PK-12, onto one campus
  2. Financial Aid - Providing financial assistance to a quarter of the student body
  3. Hopper Fund - Supporting programs and operations through annual giving


A Unified School…

  • Advances our academic program
  • Strengthens our community
  • Enhances efficiencies

Expanded Financial Aid…

  • Expands access to a GDS education
  • Enriches student interaction and experience
  • Keeps GDS true to its mission

Enhanced Hopper Fund…

  • Supports faculty and staff salaries and professional development
  • Enriches curricular and extracurricular activities
  • Sustains academic, health, and wellness support

Project Scope

New Lower/Middle School Features

  • A building that is 50% larger than our existing building, with 50% more programmable space.
  • A separate PK and K wing, collaborative learning commons spaces, a technology commons, and indoor and outdoor learning spaces.
  • Grade clusters with rooms for breakout instruction, cooperative learning, and differentiated instruction.
  • Enhanced athletic facilities, including a field and double gym, flexible performing arts space, and library.
  • Full dining available to all grade 1-8 students, and “grab and go” for High School students.

Improvements to the High School

  • Administrative offices will move to the new Lower/Middle School, freeing up space for programming.

Volunteer Leadership

One GDS Honorary Chair

Gladys Stern

One GDS Campaign Executive Committee

Kate Koffman and Sid Banerjee – Chairs
Kamal Ali '80
Richard Avidon
Frank Foer '92
Lisie and Michael Gottdenker
Larry Kanarek
Jill Lesser
Liz Levine '02
Sabina Menschel
Jonathan Perl
Helen Rhee
Peg Schultz
Anu Tate
Josh Wachs
Bryan Williams
Nancy and Harold Zirkin

One GDS Lead Gifts Committee

Monica and David Dixon
Robin '94 and Brian Friedman
Betsy and Mike Keeley

One GDS Board of Trustees Committee

Jenny Abramson '95
David Stern
Brad Vogt
Josh Wachs

One GDS Grandparents and Alumni Parents Committee

Patty Abramson
Michele Altemus and Joe Cullen
Judy Areen and Richard Cooper
Judith and Bill Jeffress
Judy Lichtman
Melanie and Larry Nussdorf
Laura Stone and Ezra Levine

One GDS Grandparent Engagement Committee

Carol Berenson
Paulette Korns
Annette and Percy Wilson
Lenore Yellen

One GDS Faculty Committee

Perry Degener
David Gillespie
Kathy Hudson
Keith Hudspeth
Skylé Pearson
Laura Rosberg

One GDS Parents Committee

Sherry and Craig Beach
Ann-Marie and Bill Burke
Nicole Elkon
Holly and Rudolph Geist
Molly Levinson and Josh Wachs
Helen Rhee and Tarik Taybi
Rachel and R. Jacob Vogelstein
Katherine Wray and Michael Korns
Barbara Yellen and Phil West
Gretchen and Jeremy Zucker

One GDS Parent Engagement Committee

Ciera and Trevor Ashley
Bernadine Bacon-Irwin
Jennifer and Matthew Berzok
Dominic Bianchi
Cathy Boss
Raïna Brubaker
Tamara Buchwald
Bob Cooper
Meredith and Michael Cymerman
Erin Davis and Jonathan Etter
Gema DeCain
Nicole DeYampert and Albert Moseley
Amy Dixon and Gregg LoCascio
Jeffrey Dygert
Sasha Fombrun-Rene and Alex Rene
Tonya Fulkerson
Bill Gallagher
Anabel Genetski
Phyllis Hedlund
Holly Holland
Barry Hurewitz
Ruth Jacobsen
Terri Judge
Iman Kennerly
Bob Liebowitz
Elana and Jonathan Perl
Tony Pimenta
Barbara Price
Sarah Rosand
Niharika Shukla
Reem Sweiss
Deep Vardan
Laura Zuckerman

One GDS Alumni Committee

Melissa Green '90
Jeff Jeffress '92
Zina Khalid '80
Caleb Kramer '87
Leroy Nesbitt '78
Nina Ritch ’95
Michael Sachse '95
Matt Solomon '90
Rachel Winnik Yavinsky '01

GDS Alumni Board

Elizabeth Slobasky '97
Stephanie Rosenthal '98
Ava Jones '02
Jason Campbell '07
Laura Charity '10
William Fastow '96
Batya Feldman '07
Julia Fisher '09
Brian Fung '06
Alexander Hirschhorn '01
Branden Isaac '08
Omotayo Jimoh '10
Laura London '07
Mitchell Malasky '04
Alexa Minerva '03
Amy Oberdorfer Nyberg '91
Denise Odell '84
Cordenia Paige '83
Nina Ritch '95